medium
Single Answer
0

You are trying to reprovision a switch in a different part of your network. However, you still see the old VLANs configured from the old network. How can you rectify the problem?

Answer Options

A

Upgrade the IOS.

B

Type erase startup-config, confirm it, and reload.

C

Type clear vlan, confirm it, and reload.

D

Delete vlan.dat, confirm it, and reload.

Correct Answer: D

Explanation

vlan.dat is the database for VLANs configured on a switch either manually or through VTP. It is persistent even if config.text (startup-configuration) is deleted. You must manually delete vlan.dat. Upgrading the IOS will not delete vlan.dat. Typing erase startup-config, confirming it, and reloading will not remove the current vlan.dat. Typing clear vlan will not remove the current vlan.dat.

vlan
switch-configuration
vtp
ios